Riz au Lait deserves its own post, n’est pas?

Music: Feist – Tout Doucement

Yay, another Sweet Thursday!

We celebrated James’s 27th birthday while we were in Paris (ok, ok I’ll stop talking about it someday). A friend told us to make a reservation at Chez L’ami Jean.  To sum up, it was the most extraordinary culinary experience I’ve ever had.   One of us ate a pigeon, the other ate a whole fish.  But the experience was completed with the most delectable dessert I’ve ever had. I don’t generally even order dessert (sigh!) but I venture to say that this was the best thing I have ever eaten in my whole life. I’ve dreamt about it. I implore you to find this Basque gem the next time you get to Paris.

Lots of food reviewers write about L’Ami Jean and this particular dessert. (do a Google search…I’ll wait).  The NY Times published a recipe for this and I am grateful they did.  Instead of the brittle I made mini ice cream cones. I also added a dash of cinnamon to the Crème Anglaise.

For the Riz au Lait:

1/2 vanilla bean, 2 cups plus 2 tablespoons whole milk, 1/3 cup arborio rice, 2 1/2 tablespoons sugar, 1 2/3 cups heavy cream.

  • Split the vanilla bean, scrape out the seeds and place the seeds and pod in a medium saucepan.

  • Add the milk and bring to a simmer.
  • Over medium heat, stir in the rice and simmer, stirring occasionally, until it reaches the consistency of oatmeal for about 20 minutes.

  • Stir in the sugar.
  • Cool to room temperature, then refrigerate until chilled.
  • Transfer the chilled rice to a large bowl.
  • Whip the cream to stiff peaks.

  • Fold the whipped cream into the rice…it should be light and creamy.

For the Crème Anglaise:

1/2 vanilla bean, 1 cup heavy cream, 1/3 cup whole milk, 6 tablespoons sugar, ¼ tsp. of cinnamon, 3 large egg yolks  (if you make the ice cream cones – save the egg whites! You can use them for that).

  • Split the vanilla bean, scrape out the seeds and place the seeds and pod in a small pot.
  • Add the cream, milk and 3 tablespoons sugar and cinnamon and heat until just before it reaches a boil.
  • In a medium bowl, whisk the egg yolks and remaining sugar until fluffy.
  • Whisk just enough of the scalded cream mixture into the eggs to warm them, then pour into the cream mixture.
  • Stir with a wooden spoon in a figure-eight motion over low heat until it coats the back of the spoon.
  • Pass through a fine-mesh sieve into a bowl set over an ice bath.
  • Cool completely, then refrigerate.

Cone Cookies:

My first job was at Ashley’s Ice Cream in Guilford, CT. I had so much fun working there…and I gained my freshman 15 before even going to college. Part of my job was to make waffle cones and thought this would make a nice accompaniment to the riz au lait. This recipe reminded me most of the waffle cones we would make.

What you’ll need:

½ cup all-purpose flour, ¾ cup powdered sugar, ¼ teaspoon salt, 3 large egg whites, 4 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted, 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper or a silicone baking mat and set aside.
  • In a bowl whisk together the flour, sugar, and salt. Whisk in the egg whites, butter, and vanilla until well combined. Let the batter sit at room temperature for 20 minutes.
  • Drop rounded tablespoons of the batter about 6 inches apart onto the baking sheet. Spread the batter with an offset spatula or the back of a spoon into 3-inch rounds.
  • Bake in the middle of the oven until golden and lightly brown around the edges, about 15 minutes.
  • Let cool on cooling rack.

  • I crumpled them up and served over the riz au lait.

2 Comments

Filed under Dessert, Recipes, Sweet Thursday, Travel Spot

2 responses to “Riz au Lait deserves its own post, n’est pas?

  1. Ummm yum. This looks amazing, I can’t wait to share this with the family I nanny for… The Mom is from France, she’ll love it.
    I remember that ice cream shop… (?) little wooden picnic tables? tall oak tree and resting nearby a beautiful peugeot….
    am i dreaming?

  2. Pingback: Decade in Review «

Leave a Reply

