Shrimp Gratin

Music: Dirty Projectors – Stillness is the Move

This meal required some quick thinking. It was 5 pm and James was on his way home from work and dinner wasn’t ready yet! The horror!

I looked in my ‘fridge and cabinets and pulled out some frozen shrimp from Trader Joe’s, panko, lemon, parsley and butter.  The Pernod on the bar caught my eye too…et voila! A star is born.

…actually, as I was fluttering around the kitchen, I remembered an Ina recipe I had watched her make sometime last year so I did a quick search and found this…I didn’t, in fact, make it up at all.  I used her recipe and varied it a bit based on what was in my kitchen. This serves two.

What you’ll need:

12-14 medium sized shrimp (cleaned and de-veined)
4 tbsp. of unsalted room temperature butter
3 minced garlic cloves
1 minced shallot, 2 tbsp of chopped parsley
2 tbsp lemon juice, 2 tsp. of Pernod
2 tbsp. of Vermouth
salt & pepper
3 tbsp. of olive oil
1/3 cup of panko.
  • Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F.
  • Place 6 (6-inch round) gratin dishes on a baking sheet.
  • Put butter in bowl. Mix by hand mixer or by hand (I did this by hand, really easy).
  • Add garlic, shallots, parsley, lemon juice, Pernod, salt and pepper and mix.

  • Add the olive oil and mix.
  • Fold panko into mixture.

  • Put 1 tbsp. of Vermouth in bottom of each gratin dish.
  • Make sure shrimp are dry and place equal amount in each gratin dish.

  • Spoon butter mixture evenly over shrimp.

  • Make for 12-14 minutes. Check and make sure shrimp are cooked through to the bottom.
  • If you want to, put gratin dishes under broiler to make top crispier.

We served this with a side of Orzo.

1 Comment

Filed under Fish, Recipes

One response to “Shrimp Gratin

  1. If Chris was on his way home from work and dinner wasn’t ready yet, I would make some PB&J’s with a side of shut the hell up, 😉 you are very resourceful!

Leave a Reply

