Sweet Thursday – Whoopie Pies

Music: To Build a Home – Cinematic Orchestra (this goes out to all the FNL fans out there – or Chivas Regal fans).

I spent my summers in Maine (at band camp, no joke – and my band camp friends are right now screaming “it was MUSIC camp!”) and understand how Mainiacs feel about Whoopie Pies. My grandfather is from Maine.  I don’t actually know if this is one of his favorite things but it reminds me of him.  They have somehow been associated with him since I was a little girl.

Before I got married, my friend Melissa contacted all my friends and family and asked them to contribute to a wedding cookbook. She gave it to me during a tea party she hosted and it was one of the few things that really made me tear up. In it was a recipe for Whoopie Pies. Later, I looked closely at the recipe and realized it was from my Grandfather’s Mother, my Great-Grandmother, Alice.  Maybe it is, in fact, one of his favorite things.

What you’ll need for the cookie:

1 cup of sugar
½ cup of shortening
2 eggs
2 cups of flour
1 tsp. of baking powder
1 tsp. of baking soda
½ tsp. of salt
4 tbsp. of cocoa
2 tbsp. of vinegar
¾ cup of milk
1 tsp. of vanilla
  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Whip together sugar, shortening, and eggs. Let sit for a few minutes.
  • Sift together flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cocoa,
  • Add vinegar, milk and vanilla to the sugar mixture.
  • With an electric mixer, add the flower mixture to the sugar/shortening mixture. Do not overbeat.
  • Chill in refrigerator for 1 hour.
  • Drop generous teaspoons onto an ungreased baking sheet.
  • Bake for 20-25 minutes.
  • Let cool on cookie sheet until cool enough to frost.

What you’ll need for filling: (I’m listing two. One has the traditional fluff while Alice’s is a simple cream filling – you decide).

Fluff Filling:

  • 1 stick softened butter
  • 1 1/4 cups confectioners sugar
  • 2 cups Fluff
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • Mix together

Cream Filling:

  • 3 ½ tbsp. flour
  • ¾ cup of milk
  • pinch of salt
  • In a double boiler, cook mixture until bubbly. Let it cool completely.
  • Once cooled, add ¾ cup of sugar
  • 1 tsp. of vanilla
  • Beat with electric mixture until soft peaks form.

I don't know why it's blue!

Take cookie and spread filling as the center layer. Add another cookie on top and gently press together.

2 Comments

Filed under Chocolate, cookbooks, Dessert, Food Anecdotes, Recipes, Sweet Thursday

2 responses to “Sweet Thursday – Whoopie Pies

  1. molly

    this is exactly what I want to eat right now..mmm..mm

  2. Pingback: Food, Glorious Food! « My Heart, New York

Leave a Reply

