Foil Baked Sea Bass with Mushroom Sauce and Quinoa for GERD Sufferers

Music: Low Man – Alberta Cross

Soooo…I was very recently diagnosed with GERD. I won’t go into the ugly details but I’ve got vocal cords that look something like the Normandy beaches (too soon?).  This is not so fun when you are wanna-be singer.  I’ve got to cut out all the things that make life worth living (and keep this blog alive) like coffee, chocolate, citrus, raw veggies (specifically onions, garlic, etc.) dairy, any kind of pepper, fried foods, alcohol and stress. Basically, I have to eat baby food. Additionally, I have to stay away from “character voices” – which basically means my own brand of comedy is dead.

I bought this book called Eating for Acid Reflux. It contains very useful information about GERD and other nutritionally related things.  Additionally, there is a cookbook attached (but I question it’s validity – you’ll see why).  I settled on this recipe because we just so happened to have a piece of Sea Bass in the freezer.  It is odd though, there are recipes that list ingredients “as tolerated”.  I mean isn’t that the point of this book? I can certainly tolerate root canals, overcooked meat or when old people say racist things but I’m not supposed to like it! The same way I am not supposed to have above listed ingredients.  Why are you tempting me with them if you know I shouldn’t have them?? That being said (my fave office phrase makes an appearance!) this recipe contains wine, peppercorns, cream and shallots.  None of which I am supposed to have but I can certainly tolerate in the name of a blog post. Maybe we can just think of this as a Last Supper of sorts, under the guise of a GERD friendly meal…

*Cook’s note: I had to doctor this meal severely…after I read the recipe I am pretty sure they didn’t test this before publishing.*

What you’ll need for the sea bass:

6 oz. sea bass fillets cut into 1 1/2 inch pieces
2 tbsp. olive oil
sea salt
some chopped parsley and tarragon

What you’ll need for the mushroom sauce:

1/2 cup dry white wine
1/4 cup of chopped shallots
1/2 cup heavy cream
1 cup of chicken broth
2 tsp. of fresh thyme
2 bay leaves
10 black peppercorns
16 oz. of sliced button mushrooms
salt
  • Preheat the oven to 475 degrees.
  • Cut fish into two pieces.

  • Cut two sheets of foil about 14 inches long and place fish on the dull surface of foil.
  • Drizzle oil, salt, parsley and tarragon over fish.
  • Seal the edges to form a packet.

  • Place on baking sheet and cook for 15 minutes.
  • While fish is cooking, saute mushrooms in small pan until thoroughly cooked.
  • In separate skillet, cook shallots for about 5 minutes until tender over medium heat.
  • Add wine, bay leaves and peppercorns and cook until liquid is reduced to about 2 tbsp.

  • Add cream and simmer for 2 minutes.

  • Add mushrooms, chicken broth and thyme and simmer for 5 minutes.

  • Take fish out of packets and plate with sauce.

  • We served with this with some blanched snap peas and quinoa.

4 Comments

Filed under cookbooks, Fish, General Rantings, Greens, Sauces

4 responses to “Foil Baked Sea Bass with Mushroom Sauce and Quinoa for GERD Sufferers

  1. I recently cut dairy out of my diet, for various reasons, and I have to say that I feel exponentially healthier. Less bloated, more energetic, clearer skin… not too shabby!

  2. Ash

    Gerd! That sucks! I may put you in touch with another singer-friend who has suffered the same fate (she’s also a foodie type.)

Leave a Reply

