Sweet Thursday – Some Good Ol’ Fashioned Brownies

Music: If Looks Could Kill – Camera Obscura

I can actually say I grew up eating the world’s best brownies.  My father was given this recipe from a friend and my mother made them for every family event.  There is a secret ingredient in them that I would never reveal (since it’s not my recipe) but I thought I would attempt them.  I, of course, changed them entirely and they came out not so great (mostly because I was too lazy to go back to the grocery store to get the right ingredient after having already been there 5 minutes before).  And I learned something this week, something I’m finally able to admit.  I am not a baker.  With that, I bring you the recipe (without the secret ingredient) for the best brownies in the world.  They sure do LOOK good!

What you’ll need:

2 sticks butter
2 cups sugar
3 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla
1/2 tsp. espresso powder
4 oz. unsweetened chocolate (this was where I deterred from the recipe…I only had semi-sweet chocolate – VERY different)
1 cup sifted flour
dash of salt
1 cup of chocolate chips
1 cup of chopped nuts (optional)
  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Prepare 13x9x2 pan by greasing and flouring.
  • Cream 1 stick butter with sugar.

  • Add eggs one at a time.

  • Add vanilla and espresso powder.  Mix well.

  • Over double boiler, melt other stick of butter with unsweetened chocolate and add to above mixture.

  • Add flour and salt.  Mix well. Add chips and mix.

  • Pour into the prepared pan.

  • Bake for 30 to 35 minutes.

2 Comments

Filed under Chocolate, Dessert, Recipes, Sweet Thursday

2 responses to “Sweet Thursday – Some Good Ol’ Fashioned Brownies

  1. i’m not much of a baker myself but highly recommend Barefoot Contessa’s Outrageous Brownies. They come out amazing every time.

  2. love these blender pics!

Leave a Reply

