Shaking Beef and Seasame Asparagus

I couldn’t help myself, I had to recreate the Shaking Beef from The Slanted Door…even though it wasn’t a great meal.  I was shocked when I googled “shaking beef” and Charles Phan’s recipe showed up in epicurious.  I paired it with some Jasmine rice and a nice asparagus dish. It came out SO well and will absolutely suffice when I have a hankering for The Slanted Door. I had to alter a few things due to what wasn’t in my cabinets but this is what I did:


1 pound beef tenderloin (filet mignon),  cut into 1-inch cubes
6 garlic cloves, chopped (about 2 tablespoons)
3 tbsp sugar
2 1/4 tsp kosher salt
1 1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper
5 tbsp canola oil
3 tbsp rice-wine vinegar
1/4 cup rice wine or white wine
3 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbsp. oyster sauce
1 tbsp. of honey
Juice of 1 medium lime (about tablespoons)
1 red onion, peeled and thinly sliced (about 2 cups)
5 scallions, trimmed and cut in 1-inch lengths
2 tbsp unsalted butter
2 lbs asparagus, trimmed
1 tsp finely-minced garlic
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp fresh ground white pepper
2 tsp Dijon mustard
1 1/2 tbsp fresh lemon juice
4 tbsp sesame oil
  • Boil the asparagus for 3 to 5 minutes then drain and run under cold water to stop the cooking.

  • Dry thoroughly.
  • Combine the garlic, salt, pepper, mustard and lemon juice in a bowl and whisk to blend. Whisk in the sesame oil.

  • Pour over the asparagus, toss and serve.

Leave a comment

Filed under Meats, Recipes, Sauces, Sides

Leave a Reply

