Heart Attack Hamburgers

Music: Kingdom of Rust – Doves

We spent a nice long weekend in Connecticut with my family. One of the best things to do when you’re in the woods is grill food!  Because it was a holiday weekend, we decided to create the most insane burger we could think of paired with french fries and chocolate milkshakes.  Just so you know, I’m still full…

The fries were a little healthier than one would expect.  My father adapted this recipe from Cooks Illustrated and instead of frying the potatoes, you bake them in oil.  They came out crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. We cut 8 Idaho potatoes in strips and tossed them in some salt, pepper and 4 tablespoons of oil.  We baked them on 350 for 20 minutes and then checked them.  We tossed them and flipped the fries to their other sides until those were browned as well. When they are perfectly crispy, throw them in a brown paper bag for a few minutes to absorb any extra oil.

For our burgers, we basically just topped them with a bunch of yummy stuff. We bought the our burgers from a local meat market, Amity Meats in Woodbridge, CT.  We topped them with blue cheese, sauteed mushrooms, Niman Ranch thick-cut bacon, melted onions, shredded lettuce and sliced tomatoes. Slap that between a bun or some toast and voila…you got yourself a burger!  On the sides we served baked beans, sauerkraut and corn on the cob.

When I was a little girl, my mother worked at night, leaving my father and I hours of play time. He would make me play drums for our living room band and we would finger paint on the kitchen floor (only to have my mother come home later and panic).  I was sort of a picky eater and he would serve me food out of oversized sea shells.  Our favorite meal was fries and chocolate milkshakes (my father’s first job was as a short order cook).  My grandmother gifted us these silver straws with little hearts on the end of them that made sipping shakes all the more fun. I was overcome when they pulled out these straws were placed in our shakes this weekend. Brought back a lot of memories!

Leave a comment

Filed under Drinks, Food Anecdotes, Meats, Potatoes

Leave a Reply

