Redhook Round-Up

Yes, yes…we hear a lot about Redhook these days.  Pretty much every major magazine featured a piece on this neighborhood this summer…but you know what? this area deserves it…it’s this neat little gem nestled into the coziest corner of Brooklyn.  It’s filled with great shops and even better food and when I go there I feel like I am transported to a 19th century portside enclave complete with anchor garbage cans and nautically named locations.

On Tuesdays you can find me helping out the lovely illustrator and shopkeeper, Jane Buck of Foxy and Winston.  You’ll recognize this place by the darling shop window full of onesies and cards – where occasionally you will find Hope… the cutest beagle ever, this is her favorite spot. One Tuesday in July, my pal Cia met me in Redhook and we did a tasting tour down Van Brunt street.  Here are some of the highlights!

I started with lunch at Fort Defiance.  I ordered what I normally order there; the smoked salmon on multigrain bread with crème fraiche, cucumber and watercress (although they are known for their Muffaletta).

We made our way to the Redhook Lobster Pound where we ordered one Connecticut style Lobster roll (warm with butter) and one Maine style Lobster Roll (cold with a little mayo).  Usually I’m all for Connecticut style (seeing as though I’m from there) but their Maine style sure is yummy.

Since we were just steps from Baked we stopped in for a Chocolate Chip Cookie.  SERIOUSLY yummy.

Even though we were pretty stuffed at this point we went to The Good Fork for some cocktails and their well known dumplings.  Annnnnd we slipped in a lovely grilled calamari salad as well.  Couldn’t hurt at this point!

We finished the night with a twilight tasting of Domaine de Canton at Dry Dock.  It was a good day.

I think we covered all the basics, besides IKEA and Fairway that is.  If you haven’t, I hope you can visit Redhook some day. It really is one of my favorite one stop neighborhoods in all of NYC.

2 Comments

Filed under Appetizer, Beverage, Food Anecdotes, Travel Spot

2 responses to “Redhook Round-Up

  1. I love Red Hook too. I want to eat and drink everything you just talked about. It’s hard to go to IKEA and not stop at Baked. The other place I’ve been meaning to check out is Steve’s Key Lime Pie, or something to that effect. Hard to find, but apparently a Red Hook wonder!

    • You know what I bought at Baked yesterday? A Brookie…it’s a chocolate chip cookie wrapped in a Brownie…I mean, really! I’ve passed that Key Lime Pie Factory on my way to Valentino Pier…it looks fascinating…perhaps we should take a field trip? 😉

Leave a Reply

