Reggie III Mushroom Stroganoff

Music: Big Wave – Jenny and Johnny

You know what I did this week?  I catered my first movie! It was lots of work in our tiny kitchen and I felt like a train conductor on the cooking line (that was terrible) but I think I liked it! I didn’t take lots of pictures because, as I mentioned, I was on a tight schedule. It was pretty satisfying knowing that 10 people somewhere in Queens were eating Plated food…and hopefully enjoying it. Did I mention they were all vegetarians?  Have you seen my posting on Duck Confit where we actually cook meat in duck fat? Needless to say, vegetarian cooking is a challenge. I made a lot of standards but a few new things…here was one:


1 tablespoon butter
2 large garlic cloves, chopped
1 large onion, thinly sliced
1 shallot
2 pounds mushrooms, sliced (I used a combo of portabello, button and shitake)
1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
1/2 cup brandy
2 tsp. of thyme
1 cup nonfat sour cream
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
12 ounces egg noodles
  • Melt butter in heavy large Dutch oven over medium-high-heat.
  • Add onion and shallot and sauté for 10 minutes until soft.

  • Add garlic and sauté 30 seconds.
  • Wash the mushrooms with water. I know you aren’t really supposed to do this but the liquid that cooks off will help with this recipe.
  • Add mushrooms and sauté until tender and most liquid in pot evaporates, about 10 minutes.

 

These pictures are terrible...

 

  • Reduce heat to medium. Add flour and stir 1 minute.
  • Add brandy and cook until mixture thickens, stirring frequently, about 5 minutes. You’ll smell when the alcohol cooks off.
  • Add thyme
  • Mix in sour cream, then nutmeg. Season mushroom mixture to taste with salt and pepper. Add egg noodles to pot; toss to blend well and serve.

 

I mean, wow.

 

If you want to know more about the movie, visit Lambsgrove Productions and see their upcoming projects page.  There you can find a link for their trailer on Kickstarter.

Also, I know we’ve been posting slowly lately but as the holiday season nears I know we’ll be entertaining more and more so look out for new recipes soon!

Leave a comment

Filed under Duck, Food Anecdotes, Pasta, Recipes, Sauces

Leave a Reply

